How to Turn off the Guest Network on My Cisco E1000 Router

The Cisco E1000 wireless router is a sleek device that is a good solution for people that want to create a wireless network in their home. The setup process is simple, and the router will even create a unique wireless network name and password when you complete the installation using the procedure outlined by the installation disc. However, after you have finished setting up the router and begin adding wireless devices to your new network, you might notice that there is now two networks with your network name. One is simply called YourNetwork (replace this with your actual network name), while the other one is called YourNetwork-guest. I know that I was concerned when I first noticed this, and immediately sought out a solution to turn it off. Fortunately it is a simple process to learn how to turn off the guest network on your Cisco E1000 router, and it can be accomplished using the Cisco Connect software that you installed during the setup process.

 

Disable the Cisco E1000 Guest Network

 

Luckily the existence of this guest network is not actually as a big of a concern as you might think it is. Anyone connected to the guest network will not be able to access the system resources that are on the main network. Additionally, although the network might identify itself as public and open, it actually requires a password to access the Internet. Therefore, no one will be able to consume precious bandwidth by accessing this guest network.

You can disable the Cisco E1000 guest network by clicking the Start button at the lower-left corner of your screen, clicking All Programs, then launching the Cisco Connect software. This software was installed on your computer during the initial router setup process.

Click the change link in the lower-right corner of theĀ Guest Access square at the bottom-left corner of the window.

Click the No option under the Allow guest access section of the window, then click the Finish button at the bottom of the window.

Note that you can also adjust the settings for your guest network and view the password from this screen if you want to keep the network active.

 

 

Share this...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on RedditEmail this to someone