How to Stop Sharing Focus Status on iPhone 13

You can stop sharing your focus status on an iPhone 13 by going to Settings > Focus > Focus Status > then turning off Share Focus Status.

Our guide continues below with additional information about how to stop sharing focus status on iPhone 13, including pictures of these steps.

You can also check out this video on YouTube for more information about this topic.

How to Disable the Message That Tells Others You Have Notifications Silenced (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this guide were performed on an iPhone 13, in the iOS 16 .4 operating system.

These steps will work for most other recent versions of iOS and will work for most other iPhone models, including:

  • iPhone 13 Mini
  • iPhone 13 Pro
  • iPhone 13 Pro Max

Step 1: Find the Settings app icon on your Home screen and tap it to open the menu.

open Settings

Step 2: Choose the Focus option.

select Focus

Step 3: Touch the Focus Status button at the bottom of the menu.

Note that you will also need to turn on the “Share Across Devices” option on this menu if it’s currently turned off.

choose Focus Status

Step 4: Tap the button to the right of Share Focus Status to turn it off.

Alternatively, you could keep that option turned off but disable individual options for the focus modes listed below.

how to stop sharing focus status on iPhone 13

The Focus Modes that are available on this menu include:

  • Do Not Disturb
  • Driving
  • Personal
  • Sleep
  • Work

Now that you know how to stop sharing focus status on iPhone 13, you won’t need to worry that other people can see when you have your notifications silenced if they try to send you a text message.

Deal of the Day

Sale
Ring Video Doorbell - 1080p HD video, improved motion detection, easy installation – Satin Nickel
  • 1080p HD video doorbell with enhanced features that let you see, hear, and speak to anyone from your phone, tablet, or PC.
  • An update from the original Ring Video Doorbell, enjoy improved motion detection, privacy zones and audio privacy, and crisper night vision.

Last update on 2023-05-29 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API | As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is “Share Focus Status” on an iPhone?

The Share Focus Status is an option found on the Settings > Focus menu. When this setting is enabled, the apps on your phone are able to see that you have a Focus mode turned on, and then it can share that information with contacts that are trying to get in touch with oyu.

One of the most prominent locations where this is available is the Messages app. If you have the “Share Focus Status” option turned on, then someone could open a text message conversation with you and see that you have notifications silenced at the bottom of the conversation.

Video About How to Stop Sharing Focus Status

Summary – How to Turn Off iPhone Focus Status Sharing

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Choose Focus.
  3. Select Focus Status.
  4. Turn off Share Focus Status.

Conclusion

Once you start using the different Focus modes on your iPhone, whether you’re working, driving, or you need a break from notifications, you will find that it’s a really helpful setting on the device.

Additionally, if you discover that you are getting more text messages because you have disabled your focus status and you want that to stop, you can always follow the same steps and return to turn the Focus Status sharing back on.

Regardless of how you use the Focus modes on your iPhone, there are a lot of configuration options that you can take advantage of so that you are only seeing the notifications that actually matter to you if you are busy doing something else.

Join Our Free Newsletter

Featured guides and deals

You may opt out at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Newest Guides