Why is the Clock Blue on My iPhone 11?

  • The clock at the top-left corner of your screen has blue shading around it when you have your Personal Hotspot turned on and a device is connected to it. It can also turn on when an app is using your location, or when you are mirroring your screen.
  • You can turn the Personal Hotspot on or off at any time, and you can even change the password.
  • When you turn on the Personal Hotspot your iPhone will switch over to a cellular connection. Any data downloaded by your iPhone or the devices connected to it will use your cellular data.
why is there blue shading around the clock on my iPhone

There are a number of different icons and statuses identified at the top of your iPhone screen.

For example, your battery icon might turn yellow when the iPhone is in Low Power Mode, or an airplane icon might appear when you’re in airplane mode.

But you might be seeing a blue rectangle around your clock at the top-left of the screen on your iPhone, and you may be curious about why it’s happening.

That blue shading appears when the Personal Hotspot is turned on and at least one other device is connected to it. Our tutorial below will show you how to turn the Personal Hotspot on or off, and show you where to change the password.

Why There is Blue Shading Around the Clock on Your iPhone and How to Make it Go Away

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 11 in iOs 13.3.1. The blue shading around the time indicates that the Personal Hotspot is turned on, and that at least one other device is sharing its cellular connection.

Step 1: Open the Settings app.

open the Settings app

Step 2: Choose the Personal Hotspot option.

open the Personal Hotspot menu

Step 3: Tap the button to the right of Allow Others to Join to turn off the hotspot. The blue shading around the clock should be gone now.

how to get rid of the blue shading around the time on an iPhone

Note that you can tap on the password, which will open another screen where you can delete the current password and create a new one. This is a good idea if you previously gave your password to someone and you don’t want them to be able to connect to your iPhone in the future.

Find out what the “Offload Unused Apps” feature means on your iPhone and learn why it can be a good option to enable if you often run low on storage space.

See also

solveyourtech.com newsletter

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.