How to Turn Off Read Receipts in the iPhone Twitter App

Read receipts are bits of information that let a sender know that someone has read their message. They are an optional part of iMessage and many email programs, and now the Twitter app. While they can serve a helpful role in some situations, there is a good chance that you do not want people to know whether or not you have read their message.

Fortunately you can turn off read receipts in all of these places, so you aren’t forced to use them if you do not want to. Our guide below will show you how to disable read receipts for your Twitter account by adjusting a setting in the iPhone’s Twitter app.

 

Stop Sending Read Receipts for Direct Messages in the iPhone Twitter App

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 5, in iOS 9. The version of Twitter being used is the most current one available at the time this article was written.

Step 1: Open the Twitter app.

open the twitter app

 

 

Step 2: Select the Me option at the bottom-right of the screen.

select the me tab

 

 

Step 3: Tap the gear icon near your profile picture.

tap the gear icon

 

 

Step 4: Tap the Settings button.

select the settings option

 

 

Step 5: Select the Privacy and safety option.

select privacy and safety

 

 

Step 6: Tap the button to the right of Send/receive read receipts to turn it off. The setting is disabled when there is no green shading around the button. It is turned off in the picture below. You can then tap the Done button at the top-right corner of the screen to save your changes and exit the menu.

turn off twitter read receipts

 

 

 

Have you turned off read receipts for your iMessages too? Click here if you want to check.

solveyourtech.com newsletter
vintage t rex t-shirt

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.