How to Stop Tagging Pictures With a Location on the iPhone 5

The pictures that you take with your iPhone 5 camera can include information about the geographical location at which the picture was taken.

This information can then be used when you upload the picture to a social media service to help identify the location of the image.

But if you would prefer that your pictures not include any location data, then you might wish to stop tagging your iPhone pictures with this information.

You can turn off location for the iPhone 5 camera by going to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > then selecting the Camera option and choosing Never.

Preventing your Camera app from using your location won’t affect your ability to take pictures with the iPhone camera. All it does is stop the camera from including location metadata that can help with searching and sorting in the Photos app.

Control over this setting can be turned on or off on the Location Services menu of your device. Our article below will show you how to turn off any geotagging that your iPhone is doing to your pictures.

How to Stop Storing Photo Location on Your iPhone 5

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Choose Privacy.
  3. Select Location Services.
  4. Touch Camera.
  5. Tap Never.

Our guide continues below with additional information on changing the location setting for the iPhone 5 camera, including pictures of these steps.

How to Disable Location Tagging for the iPhone 5 Camera (Guide with Pictures)

The steps below were performed on an iPhone 5, in iOS 8. Following the steps below will only turn off location services for your Camera.

Other apps and services on your iPhone 5 will still continue to use location services unless you also choose to disable those.

Step 1: Touch the Settings icon.

select the settings icon

Step 2: Scroll down and select the Privacy option.

open the privacy menu

Step 3: Select the Location Services option at the top of the screen.

open the location services menu

Step 4: Scroll down and touch the Camera button.

select the camera option

Step 5: Select the Never option.

select the Never option

Our tutorial continues below with additional discussion about changing the Location Services setting on an iPhone 5.

More Information on How to Prevent the iPhone 5 Camera from Using Your Location

When you open the Location Services menu from the Privacy menu there is an option at the top of the screen called Location Services. If you tap that button to turn it off, then you will prevent every app on your device from using your location.

While this is something that you can definitely do if you choose to, note that it is going to prevent you from being able to use apps like Google Maps, which rely entirely on your location.

The article above was written using an older version of iOS, but the steps are still the same. However, in newer versions of iOS, such as iOS 15, there are some additional options on the Camera’s Location Services page. These options include:

  • Allow Location Access – Never, Ask Next Time or When I Share, While Using App
  • Precise Location

The changes include an additional option when you are allowing location access, as well as choosing whether or not to let the iPhone use your precise location when tagging pictures.

The iPhone 5 camera received an interesting new feature that allows you to set a timer to take a picture. Read here to learn how to use it.

Additional Sources

solveyourtech.com newsletter

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.