How to Forget a Network in Windows 10

When you connect to a wireless network on your Windows 10 computer, you will be able to connect to that network in the future whenever it’s in range. This makes getting online in common locations much easier, as it prevents you from needing to enter your wireless network password every time you want to connect.

But occasionally you will connect to a network that you only need to connect to once, or you will inadvertently connect to the wrong network. In these cases you may find that Windows 10 will continue connecting to that network when you are in range, which may not be the desired behavior. Fortunately it’s possible to forget a network in Windows 10 so that your computer stops connecting to it.

How to Remove a Stored Network in Windows 10

The steps in this article will assume that you have previously connected to at least one network that you would like to forget. If you decide later that you would like to reconnect to that network, you will need to re-enter the wireless password to do so.

Step 1: Click the Start button at the bottom-left corner of the screen.

click the Start button

Step 2: Click the gear icon.

click the gear icon

Step 3: Choose the Network & Internet option.

open the Network and Internet menu

Step 4: Click the Wi-Fi tab at the left side of the window.

select the Wi-Fi tab

Step 5: Select the Manage known networks option.

click the Manage known networks button

Step 6: Click on the network you want to forget, then click the Forget button.

how to forget a known network in Windows 10

Is a lot of the space on your computer’s hard drive being taken up by files that are in your recycle bin? Find out how to empty the Windows 10 recycle bin and get that space back.

solveyourtech.com newsletter
vintage t rex t-shirt

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.