How to Remove the Camera Roll from the iCloud Backup on an iPhone 5

Are you getting a warning on your iPhone that your iCloud Storage is almost full, and that you cannot create a backup? This happens pretty often for iPhone users that have the free 5 GB of storage that come with an iCloud account and have not purchased any additional iCloud storage from Apple. The lack of available space can be due to any number of apps that store a lot of data on your device, but perhaps one of the most common reasons is that your Camera Roll is too large.

Fortunately it is possible to customize the items that are included in your iCloud backup, and you can remove the Camera Roll from the list of items included when an iCloud backup is created.

 

How to Stop Backing Up the Camera Roll on the iPhone 5

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 5 using the iOS 7 operating system. These steps will assume that you have already configured iCloud on your iPhone and are currently using the iCloud Backup feature.

Note that this will not delete your Camera Roll from your iPhone. It will simply stop backing up your Camera Roll to iCloud. This also means that you will not have a backup of the pictures on your iPhone, so you might want to consider an alternative solution, such as Dropbox.

 

Step 1: Touch the Settings icon.

touch the settings icon

 

 

Step 2: Scroll down and select the iCloud option.

select the icloud option

 

 

Step 3: Scroll down and select the Storage & Backup option.

select the storage and backup option

 

 

Step 4: Select the Manage Storage option at the center of the screen.

touch the manage storage button

 

 

Step 5: Select your iPhone backup at the top of the screen.

select your iphone backup

 

 

Step 6: Touch the button to the right of Camera Roll. There will be green shading around the button if your pictures are currently being backed up to iCloud, as in the image below.

touch the button to the right of camera roll

 

 

Step 7: Touch the Turn Off & Delete button. As mentioned previously, this will not delete the pictures from your Camera Roll. It will only delete the Camera Roll data that is backed up to iCloud, and will no longer back up the Camera Roll when an iCloud backup is created.

touch the turn off and delete button

 

 

Are you taking advantage of the Find My iPhone feature of iCloud? This is the option that will allow you to locate your iPhone if it is lost or stolen.

solveyourtech.com newsletter
vintage t rex t-shirt

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.