How to Stop Google Chrome from Offering to Remember Passwords

With all of the different websites that the average Internet user visits on a regular basis, it’s very common to have a lot of different username and password combinations to remember. Eventually this is difficult to do without any assistance, so it becomes helpful to use technology to remember that information for us.

But you may not want your passwords to be saved in your Web browser if other people use your computer, or if your computer is going to be out of your possession. Therefore, it’s helpful to turn off the feature in Google Chrome that offers to remember your passwords. Our tutorial below will show you where to find this setting so that you can disable it.

 

How to Stop Offering to Remember Passwords in Google Chrome

The steps in this article were performed on the desktop version of Google Chrome. Once you complete these steps, the Chrome browser will stop offering to remember passwords. This will not affect any of the other browsers on your computer, such as Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Step 1: Open Google Chrome.

 

Step 2: Click the Customize and control Google Chrome button (the one with the three dots) at the top-right corner of the window.

open google chrome menu

Step 3: Select the Settings option.

google chrome settings

Step 4: Scroll to the bottom of the menu and click the Advanced option.

google chrome advanced settings

 

 

Step 5: Click the Manage passwords button under Passwords and forms.

google chrome manage passwords

 

 

Step 6: Click the button to the right of Offer to save passwords to turn it off. I have it turned off in the picture below.

how to stop offering to remember saved passwords google chrome

 

 

Note that this will not delete any of the passwords that you have already saved. If you wish to delete all of your saved passwords, then you can do so by:

  1. opening the Customize and control Google Chrome menu.
  2. Choosing History.
  3. Selecting History at the top of the menu.
  4. Clicking Clear browsing data at the left side of the menu.
  5. Choosing All time from the Time range dropdown menu.
  6. Checking the box to the left of Passwords.
  7. Clicking the Clear Data button.

how to delete all saved passwords google chrome

 

Note that there is also a shortcut to get to the menu in step 5, which you can use by pressing Ctrl + Shift + Delete while in Chrome

 

Find out more about managing saved passwords on Google’s support site.

solveyourtech.com newsletter
vintage t rex t-shirt

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.