How to Clear Play History in the iPhone YouTube App

Like the Web browsers that you use to read Web pages, the YouTube app that you use to watch videos on your iPhone stores your history. This makes it easy for you to find videos that you have already watched, plus it lets YouTube give you recommendations for other videos based on what you have already watched.

But those recommendations may not be showing you the type of content you actually want to see, or you might not want someone else with access to your iPhone to be able to see what you have watched. Fortunately you are able to clear the play history from your iPhone’s YouTube app by following our tutorial below.

 

How to Clear Your YouTube Play History on an iPhone

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 7 Plus in iOS 10.3.3. This is going to clear your play history for your account, which means that it will be cleared on all of your devices. You may still receive recommendations based on other factors, but it will no longer be influenced by your play history until it starts to build back up.

Step 1: Open the YouTube app.

iphone youtube app

 

 

Step 2: Touch the circle with the letter inside of it at the top-right corner of the screen.

youtube app iphone menu

 

 

Step 3: Select the Settings option.

youtube iphone settings

 

 

Step 4: Scroll to the Privacy section and touch the Clear watch history button.

clear play history iphone youtube

 

 

Step 5: Tap the Clear History button to delete your history from your account and clear it from all of your devices.

hw to clear your youtube history on iphone

 

 

If your iPhone is low on storage space, then it might be time to start making more room. Read our complete guide to deleting items from an iPhone for some ideas on where to look to reclaim some of the storage space that is currently being used on your phone.

solveyourtech.com newsletter
vintage t rex t-shirt

Disclaimer: Most of the pages on the internet include affiliate links, including some on this site.